Hello from the USA!

New to VWs or just new to Split Busses? Want to know more? This page is for people thinking about, or just getting into splits - ask your questions, get some free advice, members always happy to help out.

Moderators: warb, Rawdyn, Leroy, byronbus, Tonz Magonz, dmb

WideFive
DSKer

Hello from the USA!

Post by WideFive »

Hey guys,

I'm Aaron from over on the other side of the world in the United States.

I lower Split Buses for a living. Widefive.net just a little one man shop, but still get it done :wink:

Figured I'd see what you guys are up to. Hope to be able to help with technical stuff when needed. Our VW community has given me a lot and I try to give back when I can.

Right now my main work horse is a '62 Double Door Panel. Drive the balls off it during the Summer, which is never long enough. I need to do the metal work and paint one of these Winters, but that never seems to happen. Want to eventually logo it for the business.

I still have my first car... '65 Karmann Ghia purchased back in '89. Was kind of a Father/Son project.
Haven't driven it in years, since getting into Buses. Drag raced it for a little while.

Picked up a '60 Mango last year. Finally got metal work and paint blending done. Getting it assembled now, but it's a slow process. Spend all my time working on customer stuff instead of my own projects. Still stock height, but going down :wink:

Got a '64 Standard and a '60 Panel, but they are rusty junk. Not sure what I'm going to do with them, yet.

Thanks for letting me be a part of your forum!
Aaron B.
widefive.net
chappy
DSKer

Re: Hello from the USA!

Post by chappy »

welcome. You may get more than a few parts questions. The Bus scene in the US of A is a bit bigger than it is here in Aus
Leroy
DSKer

Post by Leroy »

Welcome to DSK Aaron! Cool to have a US member 8)
2018 Year of the Barndoor
067DUB
DSKer

Post by 067DUB »