Split camper

New to VWs or just new to Split Busses? Want to know more? This page is for people thinking about, or just getting into splits - ask your questions, get some free advice, members always happy to help out.

Moderators: warb, Rawdyn, Leroy, byronbus, Tonz Magonz, dmb

michelle
Newly Converted

Split camper

Post by michelle »

Hello!! I'm a split newbie. I've had a 64 bettle which I'm restoring for nearly a year now. But having just been to the Valla weekend, now feel that I absolutely must have a split bus. My husband and I drooled over all of your rides, sorry guys...
I have a question. At Valla I saw a purple and white split camper with a pop top. Is this a modification or is it original?
Cheers! :D
warb
Mod

Post by warb »

sounds like mandy's .. aka splittychick. check this out here .. http://forums.aussieveedubbers.com/view ... ?tid=26173
Frogsta
DSKer

Post by Frogsta »

Split campers are rare in Aus.
Only proper camper tops seem to be westfalia,dorm mobile,devon normally imported privately in the early days thus the rareness.
There were a few smaller Aus conversion companys around or home made retrofit tops from 70's kombis and other vans.
I think you could special order a westfalia through VWaus in the day.
THats all I know maybe.
"-Hannovermetalmadness-"(Debilitating desease with no known cure).
crewcabconnection
Mod

Post by crewcabconnection »

Welcome...you should be able to get a windowed van all campered out like a new kitchen for under a grand. Like someone told me recently ... think about what you will actually need in a camper.

A microwave is probably of more use than a stove in Australia. Design and build it to do what you want, it really isnt that expensive...

A Westie like Dave Beckers will be hard to get and worth a lot of money. You can get close to it by getting a new interior made up and there are plenty of caravan parts sites that sell all the gear.

Isn't Mandys a panel van?