G'day

New to VWs or just new to Split Busses? Want to know more? This page is for people thinking about, or just getting into splits - ask your questions, get some free advice, members always happy to help out.

Moderators: warb, Rawdyn, Leroy, byronbus, Tonz Magonz, dmb

R100
DSKer

G'day

Post by R100 »

Hi all,

I'm new to Kombi's and VW in general. I bought a 73 bay camper a few months ago and fell in love with the bus. A few weeks later a 67 bus came up for sale for a very reasonable price and I couldn't resist, so much character. It's pretty complete (also came with a spare gearbox, towbar & front beam), just missing points and rotor button, pass seat & steering wheel. After many trips to Repco I finally worked out the points and rotor needed for the dizzy, fitted new plugs as well, and after about a minute or so of cranking, (and fixing the carb float valve as it was flooding badly when cranking) it fired up and ran, woohoo. Previous owner said it hadn't been started in the 12 years he's owned it, nor did his mate (previous owner to him) ever have it going.
Currently living near Hobart, but should be moving to the Narre Warren area in a few weeks.
My other favourite cars are early rotaries, and I own a 69 R100 as well. Hope to meet people with same interests through DSK. Background is auto electrical, (medium level) mechanical, and some electronic experience.
GFresh
DSKer

Re: G'day

Post by GFresh »

Hey mate,

Sounds like you have your hands full of cool projects

Lots of good info on this forum and a cool bunch too

Welcome to DSK

Cheers, George
KombiMadness
DSKer

Post by KombiMadness »

Welcome R100,

Sounds like a good entry with a Bay Window and a Splitty. Great that you got the motor running again after all those years.... 8)

But we love photos. If we don't see pics it didn't happen :lol:
My Dad's Kombi circa 1967 at Taronga Zoo. I'm the light weight with the skinny legs, my older brother is doing the roof jump!
evsky
DSKer

Post by evsky »