Hi DSK'ers from Tom in Adelaide Hills

New to VWs or just new to Split Busses? Want to know more? This page is for people thinking about, or just getting into splits - ask your questions, get some free advice, members always happy to help out.

Moderators: warb, Rawdyn, Leroy, byronbus, Tonz Magonz, dmb

TomRat57
DSKer

Hi DSK'ers from Tom in Adelaide Hills

Post by TomRat57 »

I have just joined up today and look forward to contributing to the forum where I can. Im relatively new to the splitty scene, but have had a love of the aircooled vw's from way back. Had a couple of beetles in my teenage years, including an oval window 54, which I stripped down to a bare metal shell and rebuilt......with a few mods included. Well the 54 got sold many years ago, with a few regrets since. In recent years I've been keen to get into a splitty "project" and managed to get hold of a 57 single cab ute for $3k, from down south around Strathalbyn. I was very happy with the price I paid for it, considering it was a reasonably complete "roller". However it does need the usual rust repairs , including both load bed and treasure chest floor, so I will be on a steep leaning curve when it comes to body panel repairs/ replacement and rust repairs. My plan is to get it on the road as a Rat. I've been patiently picking up the missing parts on sites like gumtree and ebay.
One of my next challenges will be to build a rotisserie. I know there are a number of design variations around, like offsetting the rings from the mounting points etc. I'd appreciate if you have got any advice and info on what features you have found to work for you.
I'll try and load some pics of my 57 tomorrow.
Good night all,
Tom
4tune8
DSKer

Re: Hi DSK'ers from Tom in Adelaide Hills

Post by 4tune8 »

Welcome Tom
Post some pics, we love em!
Enjoy the ride
TomRat57
DSKer

Post by TomRat57 »

thanks for the welcome G'day 4 tune8.